Finding Another World

It has been a long month of ups and downs since I have last posted. I found it hard to find the time, or energy, or motivation to write.
I recovered from my surgery quickly and was diagnosed with adenomyosis. It was disheartening for me, as if we didn’t have enough roadblocks in our path to having another child.
On the plus side, we attended a beautiful wedding in Monterey and got to spend some time with family. Daniel had a blast with his cousins, and we got to go to the aquarium.
While in California, I saw my grandmother for the first time since after her stroke. This was very emotional for me, and a part of me had dreaded seeing her in her condition. Even though she is paralyzed and can’t really speak, I  was so glad that I got to see her. I didn’t know how much I needed it until I got there.
IMG_1188
(This is my favorite picture from the trip!)

When I got home, I went to the Salt Lake Fan-X convention with my sisters. We got some great pictures here too. 🙂
IMG_1257
IMG_1268
IMG_1211

On top of all the emotional drama and running around this month, my Uncle John passed away within weeks of being diagnosed with cancer. It was a sudden blow for many in my family, and left me feeling that familiar pull to write. Now that things have calmed a little, I have more motivation and inspiration to continue my story. I am now determined to find time and ways to write, even when things are crazy.

It was the trip to California that helped me find a way back to the world I was creating. The trip to Monterey and the aquarium filled me with details and inspiration for the seafaring world I am writing. Looking at the abundant tidepools made me think about the adaptiveness of living organisms and how that would work in extreme conditions. I decided to share a bunch of pictures in this post because I loved the visual stimuli of my trip. Take the picture at the top of the post, for example.
I thought it was strangely well-timed to see the quote by Anne Stevenson on the wall of the aquarium: “The sea is as near as we come to another world.”
I have seen this quote, even this very wall, many times before. The idea fills me with wonder, but also with a stubborn desire to prove her wrong.
I may not ever walk on the surface another planet; but have I not been lost in many books and stories of strange places? I have felt almost as much a part of fictional worlds as I have of my own. This is my dream as a writer: to build a world that feels real to the reader. I want someone to read my story and feel as if they are somewhere new.
So, I am back to writing.

Here are some more pictures from the trip that have inspired me:
IMG_1143
IMG_1145.JPGIMG_1149

IMG_1164

Leave a Reply

